Oh Battlestar, I LOVE YOU

So we finished Battlestar last night, and I’m pretty sure it has taken SG-1’s long held number 1 spot in my list of all time favorite TV series ever. I absolutely LOVED IT.

SPOILERS

The ending. Oh. My. Gods. It was perfect. Absolutely perfect. Slightly ambiguous, a few doors left open for future events, but wrapped up nicely enough to leave me satisfied and content that the war is finally over.

The Dylan connection? Ever since I heard All Along The Watchtower on the show, I couldn’t wait for the end so I could find out what that’s all about. I still haven’t found anything conclusive. What does it mean?? Why this song? Whyyyyy? What’s going on?

Battlestar is the closest thing to sci-fi perfection I have ever seen, and here is where it shaved a few points from its perfect score.

The boxing episode
I kinda liked the idea behind it, but it was clunky, ugly and just poorly executed.
Billy dies
I can’t believe they killed Billy! And the whole hostage thing was just boring.
The Black Market episode
It was dull
The Irish lawyer/Lee as president fiasco
This episode wasn’t bad really, but this horrendous storyline totally ruined it. WHY did we have to spend 45 minutes pretending it was ever going to be anyone but Lee? And when the lawyer starts listing the good qualities… And then Lee’s name is on the board… It was excruciating. I keep leaving little notes with good qualities and Lee Adama circled in big letters around the house for my husband to find though.

But that’s it. Minor, minor details.

I can’t WAIT to watch it again. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to, but I know it will be just as fun the second time around, when we can focus on the details and pick things up we missed before.

Some fun trivia we found out… Allen from Two and A Half Men (gosh I hate this character soooo much!) was in the running to play Baltar! No offence to the actor, but I’m so glad that didn’t happen. Our Gaius was the perfect Gaius, and without the skills of James Callis, we never would have had the perfect lovable/hateable character that provided much needed and appreciated comic relief.

The whole cast was perfect, though I have to admit I never liked Callie. She was just so wooden. And smelled like cabbage apparently.

My favorite characters were Starbuck, the Admiral and Roslin.

ย 

I love you, Battlestar.

We’re going to check out Caprica next. I have to admit, I don’t have high hopes for it but it could be OK. I’m also going to look into Eureka because I hear lots of good things about it… And Game of Thrones. People seem to love it so why not. I think I saw an episode once and didn’t like it, and I’m more of a space opera fan, but it’s so acclaimed that there must be something to it.

On a final note, our prayers today are of course dedicated to Boston.

3 thoughts on “Oh Battlestar, I LOVE YOU

Leave a Reply

