A refreshing take on lifting for women.

The Iron Rose

When I first started weightlifting, I joined a local gym and had an interview with the manager.  He asked me the typical array of questions; “what are your goals, what do you want to achieve”?

I wanted to be strong.  I wasn’t interested in wasting precious minutes on a hamster wheel (aka elliptical, treadmill, stationary bike, blah blah blah).  I wanted to lift weights.

He was rather taken aback…in a good way.  Why?  Because 99.9% of women DON’T want what I wanted.  They wanted to reduce, to waste away, to get rid of, to lessen, to deplete.  I wanted growth, firmness, shape, strength.  My goal was not to rid my body of my uber booty and draft-horse legs, but to make them better…to make them stronger.  I wanted to add definition to my broad shoulders and craft a core of steel.

I want to be seen, not to whither away…

View original post 325 more words

Leave a Reply

