My deadlift sucks! Help?

So I’ve been working up to a conventional deadlift for the past couple of months using the trap bar. When I first started lifting weights I was super, super weak, barely managing to squat the oly bar, lift the oly bar, look the oly bar in the eye.

Last week I gave my first conventional deadlift a shot and truly, it was a beautiful thing. 135lbs (remember, I couldn’t lift the bar not so long ago) perfect form and absolute exhilaration upon completion. It was wonderful.

Of course, I wanted to do it again as soon as possible! So I went to the gym on Saturday totally psyched. And I really messed up. I don’t know what I did wrong, but my back was so sore on Sunday I could hardly walk. I’m still hobbling around a little today and know it’s going to be a week or two until I can try it again.

Which really sucks because I just lost my confidence in my squat. I was doing awesome until a few weeks ago felt some pain in my quads and had to avoid squatting. It seems like a hip flexor issue. I’ve been doing some mobility work, but when I went to squat on Saturday I missed the weight I lifted last time (115lbs) and had to let the bar drop to the safety pins. Nothing was hurt but my ego, thankfully.

Was Saturday just a bad day or am I really doing something wrong here?

I’m really nervous about 1) filming myself in the gym and 2) posting it to the internet, but I don’t think I have much of a choice. I hired a personal trainer and he sucked, and now I’m too embarrassed to get another one. (I go to a commercial gym, the trainer was a really nice guy even though he wasn’t very good, and I just don’t want to spend that kind of money just to be disappointed again).

Is there any way around this? I guess not. Hopefully I’ll find a kind place where I can get some feedback on my form without having to endure YouTube style comments. If you know a good place for this kind of thing it would be awesome if you could let me know!

2 thoughts on “My deadlift sucks! Help?

  1. Many people have experienced the same thing as you. Nevertheless, it all ends down to proper technique and having the correct amount of weights on in the beginning. There are also some assistant work out you can do in order to improve the grip and lower back region.
    If you want you can film and send it directly to me and can give you some advice. The common error is that people start lifting the bar to far out from the chins and curl their back.

    • Cool, thank you! I will.

      It will probably be a week or so until I try it again – I don’t have pain anymore but prefer to err on the side of caution because I don’t have time for an injury!

Leave a Reply

