Eleven servings of grains a day

When I first started learning about nutrition, it blew my mind how much rubbish I was eating and what I was serving my family at meal times in the name of health. Though, frankly, I never did get my eleven servings of grains a day. Who the heck can get eleven servings of grains a day? Eleven? Seriously? Eleven?

Aside from the fact that it’s pretty much impossible to eat that many grains, the number itself just sounds so random. You know how a wormhole can only remain open for 38 minutes? You know where the writers got that from? 40 minutes just seemed like too much of a round number and it was less believable. It’s more sciencey this way. It kind of made me think that they pulled eleven out of thin air.

2 thoughts on “Eleven servings of grains a day

  1. I like your post (11 does seem like a pretty random number) but I have to disagree on the point of who can eat 11 servings of grain a day. Most of America eats more than that a day, if you look at what a true serving size is. I mean, a standard bagel is 3-4 servings! Our portions rage out of control. I’m interested to know what more you learn in your research though!

    • Well, I was eating a standard American “diet food” diet, rather than the traditional SAD I think is most often used as a point of reference (microwave meals, takeout etc.) so I mean food that’s touted for its health and weight loss benefits like whole grain breads and pastas, that kind of thing. And I could just never manage it!

      True though, I’m sure many people are unwittingly eating far more than those 11 servings.

      Also, have you noticed that bread manufacturers are competing to see who can get the most grains attached to their crusts? It’s like bread gets seedier every week! 12 whole grains, 16 whole grains, 17 whole grains ad infinitum. Crazy.

Leave a Reply

